A Terribly Embarrassing Lesson Learnt in Belize

Know How to Break Before Jumping on a Bicycle

I had the unfortunate experience of re-learning how to ride a bike in Caye Caulker, Belize. For those who haven’t been to Caye Caulker, it is a tiny island off the coast of Belize. The only way of getting around is by either walking, riding a bicycle or taking a golf cart. At the Cabana we were staying at, they had bikes for us to take into town to run errands, etc. Excited that I was able to maintain balance, I started cruising down the dirt road with my dad trailing behind me. I saw that there was an intersection coming up so I figured that I’d let friction do the work to slow me down. Inching closer and closer to the intersection, I heard a golf cart coming closer… I started to scream in panic…. *boom* I lay on the ground horrified that I just slammed into a god damn golf cart. My dad circled around us and said “don’t you know how to break??? You back pedal!!” before zipping off away from the scene. Im sure he *facepalmed* as he rode off.

 

Leave a Reply

