My Indiana Jones Campaign in Jordan

IST - AMM.PNG

If anyone is insane as I am and enjoys schlepping across Europe to hit Jordan, it takes 4 hours and 30 to fly from Istanbul, Turkey to Amman, Jordan.

This trip truly was a once in a lifetime kind of ordeal.

Let’s recap: I started off meeting friends drinking my face off in Munich’s Oktoberfest – to getting sick and drunk tindering in Lisbon, Portugal and trying to scuba dive in Portimao – to meeting awesome hostel people in Istanbul, Turkey and drinking and singing the night away and floating up in a hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia, Goreme – to now Jordan.

This is it.

This is the highlight of my epic trip.

4.PNG

LOOK AT ME! I’M MAJESTIC AF!Β 

Here, I join a 7 day tour with Geckos Adventure (also part of G Adventures/Intrepid Tours). I’ve been looking at this tour for quite some time and finally booked it about 1 week before I left for Europe. Being stubborn, I battled myself in the fact that I could have done this myself instead of doing the tour. In hindsight, I am actually really glad I did the tour in the end. Jordan, while it is a little country and a few hours’ drive away from each place, I would’ve felt extremely overwhelmed to do the Middle East (ME) on my own after being on the road for a while. I know it sounds really princess-y of me, but it worked and I was happy with it. The price was also hard to beat – I think I paid $600 CAD for the tour and got a discount on the rate since nobody in first world countries were booking the tour amidst “times of war” and “ISIS campaign” around the ME.

My parents were sh-tting bricks when they found out that I planned to go to Jordan. Well, they were already sh-tting bricks just knowing that I’d be travelling on my own for such a long period of time. They searched on the Canadian Government’s Travel Advisory and find this:

3.PNG

“My god Val, you’re going to die.” – Mom

Reading that website did not ease any nerves nor did it help with the incessant worry that clouded their minds. Hence, going with a tour group alleviated some stress they had.

I arrive at Queen Alia International Airport in Amman, Jordan. It is extravagant. It is modern and most importantly, there are no lines through Customs! (yeeehaw!) When I met my tour group, there were only 3 other individuals booked – all of them Australian. I was bound to pick up an Australian accent by the end of my week in Jordan. In other great news, I didn’t have to pay for a single supplement price since the other solo traveler was a male. We both reaped the rewards with a large bed and space to ourselves.

2.PNG

“Why must you always make me worry about you?” – Mom

Jordan is a spectacular country. It is the only country in the Middle East that have been vigilant in keeping ISIS out. There is a lot of construction and development in a country that ultimately doesn’t have the same resource like oil that other Middle Eastern countries have.Β What they do have is a strong army and a strong currency.

For anyone that has doubts about going to Jordan, don’t!

Yes, be careful.

Yes, be smart.

Yes, be respectful.

Yes, have fun.

Yes, prepare to eat an absurd amount of hummus and falafel and be 100% okay with it.

5.PNG

…to be continued! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

