Extending my Thai Visa and Not Using It…

I was starting to get separation anxiety by mid to end of January because the friends that I have made at Lanna Muay Thai are all starting to leave. All the great, cool, wonderful people are heading back home and back to their normal lives. Knowing that you won’t see people you’ve made a great connection with is probably the hardest thing to come to terms with. Hence, the separation anxiety. Is there a way to stop this feeling? Is there a way to stop myself from stressing over making money? From trying to understand my life out… sort of?

The end goal of Australia was looming over me. Australia, once, an option filled with ambitions and goals from my (boring and regular) life was now starting to feel like a burden. Many people would dream of going on a trip like this! I should feel grateful. I should feel ecstatic. Instead, I was feeling sad. Sad that I have to go back to a corporate life. Sad to realize that the 6 months of fun has to end. Sad that I was seeing Australia as a means to an end. What the actual fuck. Why can’t the good times of Thailand just keep rolling on? I just need a little bit of money to sustain my life. Why does it have to end like this?

Not wanting to face reality and thoroughly enjoying the every day muay thai beatings, I decided to extend my Thai visa for another 30 days. 1900 baht, 2 hours at immigration at Promenada Mall, I was granted my extra 30 days in the Land of Smiles.

In the following 24 hours, I would decide against all the efforts and emotional struggle to stay in Thailand. One of my friends from Lanna said he was going to Myanmar for a few weeks and come back to Chiang Mai. With a huge wave of separation anxiety crushing me, the possibility of another life change, and a huge motivation to escape from those feelings, I abruptly changed my path and applied for an E-Visa to Myanmar. 1.5 hours later I was accepted which means that the extended Thai visa would no longer be necessary.

Decision made.

The anxiety.

The stress.

The possibility of the return of real life had just been melted away.

I just bought myself a month before thinking about this again.

 

Whew.

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 4.28.42 PM.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

